Stay Tuned! Our Live Score Mobile App & Website is Coming Soon!

CSK Clinch Thrilling IPL Final, Equals Mumbai Indians’ Title Record

In a thrilling IPL final that kept fans on the edge of their seats, the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) emerged victorious, equalling the record set by the Mumbai Indians for the most IPL titles (5). The match, held at an electrifying venue, showcased remarkable performances from both teams, but it was CSK’s Ravindra Jadeja who stole the spotlight with his heroic display.

Join Our Telegram Channel For More Updates: Join Now

The Gujarat Titans, led by the explosive Sai Sudharsan, set an imposing target of 214/4 with exceptional innings. Sudharsan blazed his way to 96 off just 47 balls, smashing eight fours and six sixes, showcasing his power-hitting prowess during the death overs. Wriddhiman Saha also played a valuable knock, contributing 54 off 39 deliveries, while Shubman Gill added 39 off 20 at the top of the order.

Despite a brief interruption caused by heavy rain after the third ball of the CSK innings, the match continued after the wet outfield was attended to. Eventually, the contest was reduced to 15 overs, with CSK facing a revised target of 171.

The match witnessed a thrilling back-and-forth battle, with significant contributions from CSK’s Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, Shivam Dube, and Ambati Rayudu. Whenever the opposition seemed to gain the upper hand, CSK’s Mohit Sharma stepped up and took vital wickets to keep his team in the hunt.

With the tension at its peak, CSK found themselves needing 10 runs off the last two balls. It was then that Ravindra Jadeja displayed nerves of steel and unleashed a stunning assault. Jadeja smashed a six off the penultimate ball, igniting the crowd with anticipation. And in a breathtaking climax, he timed the last ball to perfection, sending it racing to the boundary for a crucial four, sealing CSK’s fifth IPL title and etching his name in the annals of IPL history.

The victory marked a remarkable achievement for CSK, as they equaled the record set by the Mumbai Indians for the most IPL titles. The match showcased the true spirit of cricket, with exceptional performances, nail-biting moments, and a thrilling conclusion that will be remembered for years to come.

Interesting and unknown facts about IPL

First Time Ever: The 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL) final was the first in the tournament’s 15-year history to be moved to a reserve day due to inclement weather. 

Consecutive Titles: 

  1. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have won the IPL title five times, establishing themselves as one of the most successful teams in IPL history.
  2. CSK was the first team to win back-to-back IPL championships.
  3. Under the leadership of MS Dhoni, CSK triumphed in their maiden IPL campaign in 2010.
  4. CSK repeated their success by winning the IPL title again in 2011.
  5. However, the Mumbai Indians (MI) surpassed CSK’s back-to-back feat and became the first team to win five IPL championships.
  6. MI achieved consecutive IPL crowns in 2019 and 2020, following in CSK’s footsteps.
  7. Since winning their first IPL title in 2013, MI has added four more IPL titles, the most by any team in the history of the tournament.

Inaugural Season: The first season of the IPL took place in 2008 and was won by the Rajasthan Royals, led by Shane Warne.

Join Our Telegram Channel For More Updates: Join Now

Most Successful Teams: The Mumbai Indians (MI) have been the most successful team in IPL history, winning the tournament a record-breaking five times (in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020). However, Dhoni-led CSK have equaled this record post their heroics against Gujarat Titans in IPL 2023. 

Hat-Trick Heroes: Only two players have achieved a hat-trick in the IPL. They are Amit Mishra (playing for the Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad) and Yuvraj Singh (playing for the Kings XI Punjab).

Leading Run Scorer: The Indian batsman Virat Kohli holds the record for the most runs in IPL history. He has amassed over 7000 runs playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Highest Individual Score: Chris Gayle of the Royal Challengers Bangalore holds the record for the highest individual score in an IPL match. He scored an unbeaten 175 runs off just 66 balls against the Pune Warriors India in 2013.

Fastest Century: The record for the fastest century in the IPL belongs to Chris Gayle as well. He reached the milestone in just 30 balls while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2013.

Most Sixes: Chris Gayle also holds the record for the most sixes hit in the IPL. He has smashed over 350 sixes in the tournament.

Youngest IPL Captain: Virat Kohli, at the age of 22 years, 4 months, and 6 days, became the youngest captain in IPL history when he led Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011. He took over the captaincy in the absence of Daniel Vettori and has since led the team to 56 wins in 126 matches. Steve Smith holds the second spot, captaining Pune Warriors and later Rajasthan Royals. Shreyas Iyer, a surprise pick as Delhi Capitals’ captain, achieved remarkable success, leading the team to their first playoff match in 2019 and their first-ever IPL final in 2020. Suresh Raina captained Chennai Super Kings in six matches, while Rishabh Pant, at the age of 23 years, 6 months, and 6 days, recently made his captaincy debut for Delhi Capitals.

Most Expensive Player: Sam Curran became the most expensive player in IPL history, fetching a bid of INR 18.50 crore from the Punjab Kings.

Most Successful IPL Bowler: India’s Yuzvendra Chahal holds the record for the most wickets in IPL history. 

Maximum Trophy Winners List

Mumbai Indians, the most successful team, has lifted the IPL Trophy a remarkable five times, winning in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. 

Chennai Super Kings also hold a record of five titles, emerging as winners in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023. 

Kolkata Knight Riders have clinched the trophy twice, in 2012 and 2014, while Sunrisers Hyderabad, Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers, and Gujarat Titans have each won it once in 2016, 2008, 2009, and 2022, respectively. These teams have proven their mettle and left a lasting impact on the history of the IPL. 

IPL TeamIPL Trophy IPL Winner
Mumbai Indians5 times2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020
Chennai Super Kings5 times2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, 2023
Kolkata Knight Riders2 times2012, 2014
Sunrisers Hyderabad1 time2016
Rajasthan Royals1 time2008
Deccan Chargers1 time2009
Gujarat Titans1 time2022

Frequently Asked Questions 

When is the IPL 2024 auction expected to happen?

The official date for the IPL 2024 auction has not yet been announced. However, it is likely to occur in the latter part of 2023, following the timeline observed in previous seasons.

When can we anticipate the commencement of the IPL 2024 season?

The precise dates for the IPL 2024 season are yet to be confirmed. As per tradition, the IPL usually begins towards the end of March and extends for approximately two months. Similar to the pattern in IPL 2023, the schedule for the upcoming season is expected to be released in February, just prior to the opening match scheduled for March 31.

Join Our Telegram Channel For More Updates: Join Now

Leave a Comment

Stay Tuned! Our Live Score Mobile App & Website is Coming Soon!